Why write a poem?

Why write a poem?
Why write a poem when a story would be longer?
Why write a poem?
Why write a poem at all?

Poems to me are like watching a movie, instead of a tv series.
All condensed in on themselves.
Leaving more questions than answers.
I write in free form because rhyming hurts.
It reminds me of scary cartoons and badly written rap lyrics.
Or love songs filled with empty words.
The poem that I write, floods out from me as the water does from a sink,
Reminding me that emotions can
If well observed and documented lead to something
Something more than feeling hollow.

Hollowness is a feeling too I suppose
But it is not one that I understand.
Writing a poem is like scratching an itch.
An itch, that you know will only increase as time passes.

Leave a Reply

