Progression

Putting one foot in front of the other

Sometimes desperately aware that we’ll have to take another.

Slipping down the slippery slope of life

Plunging deep within sadness with which we are rife.

I held out my hand to anyone, who would pass me by on their way up

It was grabbed now and again by others though I must have been a holdup

One by one they drew me closer to the top to where

The ground was not so steep and there was better air.

From then on I could walk, holding the hands of others helping people of my own.

Making progress and showing just how far I had grown

No longer cloaked so deeply in the sorrow

Looking forward, ever forward to a brighter  morrow.

Leave a Reply

